Heritage Council MSPI awards

13 Jul 2023

13 museums were celebrated at a ceremony in Kilkenny Castle today,13th July 2023, having achieved official accreditation under the Heritage Council’s Museum Standards Programme for Ireland (MSPI).

Established to promote professional standards in museums, selection under the MSPI is a major accolade with accredited museums considered to have attained excellence across a range of areas. Since its inception in 2006, the Irish museum sector has continued to embrace the programme with participation growing from 12 museum sites to 73 in 2023.

Three sites at Muckross in Killarney maintained full accreditation for the third time, making them the MSPI’s most successful participant to date in terms of consistently upholding standards over a 17-year period. Meanwhile, the ceremony welcomed the Presentation Sisters of Nano Nagle Place in Cork city which becomes the first religious institution and museum to receive recognition under the programme.

Other award-winners include the Michael Davitt Museum in Mayo, as well as museums run by local authorities, national organisations, and small volunteer groups.

The museums receiving accreditation were:

Full accreditation

  • Carlow County Museum
  • Cork Public Museum

Maintenance of accreditation

  • Chester Beatty
  • Donegal County Museum
  • Drogheda Museum Millmount,
  • Michael Davitt Museum
  • Muckross House
  • Muckross House Research Library
  • Muckross Traditional Farms
  • The Glucksman, University College Cork
  • Tipperary Museum of Hidden History

Interim Accreditation

  • Glenveagh Castle, NPWS
  • Nano Nagle Place