Alberto Garlandini appointed new president of ICOM

6 Jul 2020

Following the resignation with immediate effect of Suay Aksoy, the elected President of ICOM, on 19 June 2020, the Executive Board has appointed Alberto Garlandini, one of the two incumbent Vice-Presidents of ICOM, as the new President.

The decision was taken by anonymous vote and in accordance with the provisions of the ICOM Statutes. He will assume the presidency until the next election of the Executive Board by the General Assembly, which will be held in Prague in 2022.

The Executive Board also appointed by anonymous vote, Terry Simioti Nyambe, Ordinary Board Member, to replace Alberto Garlandini as Vice-President. Nyambe, former Chair of ICOM Zambia, will serve this new mandate alongside Vice-President Laishun An until the elections in 2022.

Alberto Garlandini has held several functions within ICOM since 2005, including Chair of ICOM Italy and Chair of the Organising Committee of ICOM Milan 2016, which is particularly relevant experience in relation to the the organisation of the ICOM General Conference in Prague in 2022. He has also been an Ordinary Member of the ICOM Executive Board, the Museum Definition Prospects and Potentials Standing Committee (MDPP), the Strategic Allocation Review Committee (SAREC), the ICOM International Committee for Regional Museums (ICOM ICR), the Sustainability Working Group (SWG) and the Strategic Plan Committee (2013-2017).