The Bishop’s Palace: Treasures of Georgian Waterford is part of Waterford Treasures: three museums in the Viking Triangle.
Waterford city boasts the finest collection of 18th Century architecture of any city in Ireland outside of Dublin. This period of elegance began in Waterford in 1741 when the Anglo-German architect Richard Castles - celebrated as one of Ireland’s greatest architects - designed the wonderful Bishop’s Palace.
Now a museum run by the city's council, it charts the history of Waterford from 1700 to 1970 and gives a wonderful insight into the history of what was Ireland's second city up to the 1750s. It reveals the story of Waterford from 1700 to the 1970s. Amongst the many items of national and international significance displayed at the museum is the only surviving Bonaparte 'mourning cross' and the Penrose decanter, the oldest surviving piece of Waterford Crystal, which dates back to 1789. The museum contains a wealth of fascinating artefacts, period furniture, beautiful fireplaces and a collection of rare and important paintings and an entire floor of the building dedicated to historic stories specific to Waterford.