Membership Directory

Knock Museum


Knock Museum tells the story of the Knock Apparition at Knock, Co. Mayo in 1879. It describes how fifteen local Roman Catholic witnesses claimed to have seen the Lamb of God, the Virgin Mary, St. Joseph and St. John the Evangelist at the south gable of the local parish church on 21 August, 1879. Visitors can read the testimony of pilgrims describing how they were miraculously cured and listen to the memories and stories of some of the one and a half million pilgrims who visit Knock Shrine each year.

The museum charts the development of Knock from a small rural village into an international Marian Shrine. It focuses on the visits of Pope John Paul II in 1979 and Mother Teresa of Calcutta in 1993. Monsignor James Horan, who was responsible for the building of Knock Basilica and Knock Airport, is given a special place in the museum. The museum also places the Apparition in the context of life at that time from living in the thatched house to working in the forge.

The Knock shrine complex incorporates five churches including the Apparition Church, Parish Church, Basilica, Blessed Sacrament Chapel and Chapel of Reconciliation.

Other facilities include a religious book centre, caravan and camping park, hotel and the Knock Museum. The entire complex is set within 100 acres of landscaped gardens.




Knock, Co. Mayo


+353 (0) 94 9375034