New Board members appointed to IMA (Governance)

Posted: Tuesday, 18 September 2018

Three new board members have been appointed to the board of directors of The Irish Museums Association.

Following open election by members at the annual general meeting on the 6 September 2018, Ian Brunswick was elected to the board of directors of the IMA. He joins new board members Dr Olwen Purdue and Dr Audrey Whitty, co-opted to the board in August 2018. Their term of office will commence from September 2018 and runs for three years, eligible for reappointment up to a maximum of three terms.

The Chair of the Irish Museums Association, William Blair, announcing these appointments, said:

"I am delighted to welcome Dr Audrey Whitty, Dr Olwen Purdue and Ian Brunswick to the board of directors of the IMA. It is a testament to the IMA and its engagement with the sector that we continue to attract board members of this calibre from our membership. I look forward to working with them over the next number of years as we continue to develop the next phase of the association and implement our Strategic Plan 2018-2021."

"I would also like to extend my sincere gratitude to Dr Emily Mark-FitzGerald, Aoife Ruane, and Rosemary Ryan who have stepped down from the board of directors of the IMA as they reached their end of term. Their commitment and support has been invaluable to the Association  over the last deacde and, more recently, to me in my role as Chair."

The board of directors of the Irish Museums Association include a wide range of cultural professionals who may be co-opted to the board by existing members or elected through vote by IMA membership at an AGM. The board of directors are the governing body of the Irish Museums Association and are responsible for the development and vision of the association, setting the strategic direction of the association; supporting, representing and lobbying for the improvement of museum provision and practice in Ireland; and advising on matters of concern to the museum community.

Click here for further information on the board of directors of the Irish Museums Association.